A Big Health Update On Rohit Sharma - The Cricket Lounge

1 month ago 90

India captain Rohit Sharma has finally tested negative for covid-19 and has been released out of isolation, reported PT on Sunday.

Good News For Rohit Sharma And ICT Fans

Last week, the BCCI had already named Rohit as the captain for the upcoming white-ball matches – 3 T20Is followed by 3 ODIs – against England, who will be led by their new captain Jos Buttler. And now this news confirms Rohit’s availability for these matches.

Rohit Sharma Image Source – Mid-Day

Sharma missed the ongoing Edgbaston Test against England – which is the rescheduled fifth Test of the 2021 Pataudi series – as he had tested positive for covid-19 a day before the start of the game, after being put into isolation last Saturday when he tested positive for the first time during the warm-up match.

“Yes, Rohit has tested negative and as per medical protocols is now out of quarantine. However, he is not playing today’s T20 warm-up game against Northamptonshire as he will need some recovery time and training ahead of the first T20I,” a senior BCCI official told PTI.

Rohit Tested Negative For COVID-19

As per medical protocol, any player who is out of quarantine after covid-19 needs to undergo mandatory cardiovascular tests to check their lung capacity.

In Rohit’s absence, Jasprit Bumrah was named the stand-in skipper for the Edgbaston Test.

While Rohit will play from the first game of the white-ball series – the first T20I is on July 7, just two days after the scheduled end of the Test on July 5 – the likes of Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant and Ravindra Jadeja will be available from the second game onwards.

Dear #RohitSharma fans. Here is the shot which will please you😊 #CricketTwitter pic.twitter.com/SBaFlHbhEP

— Vimal कुमार (@Vimalwa) July 3, 2022

Sharma is coming off a disappointing IPL 2022 season – where the Mumbai Indians captained managed only 268 runs at an average of 19 and didn’t hit a single fifty – and he would want to get back to his best for India.

The BCCI had announced three different squads for the limited-overs matches: one for the first T20I, another for the second and third T20Is, and another for the ODI series.

Rohit Sharma Image Source – Hindustan Times

India’s squad for 1st T20I: Rohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

India’s squad for 2nd and 3rd T20I: Rohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik

India’s squad for ODIs: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, J Bumrah, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Shami, Mohd Siraj, Arshdeep Singh

Also Read: Wasim Jaffer Gave An Epic Reply To Michael Vaughan
Read Entire Article