IPL's Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings: 8 mn paid viewers on Disney+Hotstar – Mint

NEW DELHI: As many as 8.1 million concurrent viewers logged on to official broadcaster Star India’s video streaming platform Disney + Hotstar to watch the first match of Indian Premier League (IPL), 2020, on Saturday, as per LetsOTT, a Malaysian-based digital media company. The numbers are significant as the match was behind a paywall, said media buyers.

MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings’ (CSK) defeated defending champions Mumbai Indians by five wickets in the opening match which marked the return of live sports in India after almost six months.

These numbers are close to the 8-10 million per match digital viewership mark of the 2019 edition of IPL. However, last year Jio users had free access to Hotstar.

“If these are numbers on the first match, that too behind a paywall, then the viewership will hit 25-30 million per match towards the end of the IPL. This is a fabulous and unprecedented performance,” said Sandeep Goyal, chairman, Mogae Media, a Mumbai-based marketing and communication agency.

According to Goyal, this is how Star can actually create meaningful RoI for the huge monies it pays the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

“If Star succeeds with the pay experiment with Hotstar, it will create precedence for a lot many more digital properties,” he added.

Shradha Agarwal, co-founder and COO at digital marketing agency Grapes Digital, said the viewership was encouraging and is expected rise as content has so far been limited to entertainment and news.

Disney + Hotstar, which earned 300 crore in revenues last year, said it has signed 13 sponsors and almost sold out the ad inventory for IPL 2020 to firms like Procter & Gamble, Kelloggs, Himalaya, Apple, Intel, JSW, Ikea, Jeep and Urban Company, among others.

With the coronavirus pandemic delaying the T20 tournament to the second half of the year, IPL is being held in empty stadiums in the United Arab Emirates which, experts said, is expected to drive digital and television viewership.

The network garnered 300 million viewers on to its video-streaming platform, Hotstar, to watch the 12th edition of the T20 tournament in 2019 — a 74% jump in watch-time from last year.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

This post was originally published on this site

8 defeats in 8 matches: Mumbai Indians' opening game nightmare continues in IPL 2020 – Times Now

Mumbai Indians' opening game nightmare continues in IPL 2020. | Photo - IPL |

Mumbai Indians’ opening game nightmare continues in IPL 2020. | Photo – IPL |

Key Highlights

  • Mumbai Indians lost their opening match of IPL 2020 against Chennai Super Kings on Saturday
  • Mumbai Indians failed to defend the total of 162 runs and lost the game by 5 wickets
  • Mumbai Indians have now lost their last eight opening games in IPL

Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL) with four titles to their name. However, they are certainly not the best when it comes to starting the season on a high. Their inability to win opening games of the tournament have now seen them create an embarrassing streak of defeats. Mumbai Indians extended their losing streak in opening matches of IPL on Saturday with yet another defeat at the hands of arch-rivals Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

Mumbai Indians have now failed to win any of their last eight opening matches of IPL seasons starting from 2013. Their disappointing losing streak had started against Royal Challengers Bangalore in their opening match of 2013. They have since lost all their opening games of the season. On Saturday, Mumbai lost by five wickets after failing to defend the total of 162 runs against CSK in their IPL 2020 opener.

The loss marked Mumbai Indians’ sixth straight defeat in the UAE in IPL. They had lost five games on the trot when the first phase of IPL was held in UAE in 2014 due to general elections in India. However, despite losing their opening games in the last eight seasons, Mumbai Indians have managed to win the trophy 4 times in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019 respectively.

Mumbai Indians’ first match in each IPL since 2013:

2013 – Lost v RCB
2014 – Lost v KKR
2015 – Lost v KKR
2016 – Lost v RPS
2017 – Lost v RPS
2018 – Lost v CSK
2019 – Lost v DC
2020 – LOST v CSK

On Saturday, CSK skipper MS Dhoni won the toss in Abu Dhabi and invited Mumbai Indians to bat first in the IPL 2020 opener. Mumbai got off to a good start with openers Rohit (12) and Quinton de Kock (33) adding 46 runs for the first wicket. Sourabh Tiwary then played a good knock of 42 runs off 31 balls to keep Mumbai Indians in the hunt for a 200-run total.


However, CSK bowlers made a comeback towards the end and restricted Mumbai on 162 in 20 overs. Ambati Rayudu (71) and Faf du Plessis (58 not out) then combined to take CSK over the line comfortably in the chase. Mumbai Indians will now face Kolkata Knight Riders in their second game on September 23.

This post was originally published on this site